What ‘World Autism Day’ means to me.

Image

 

As you know, my platform is Autism. Most of you know that my niece, Skye, is Autistic. What you may or may not know is that means. I’m going to try my best this year to not only educate every single person I come in contact with, but to help people truly understand Autism. My hope is that when you see a child “throwing a tantrum” you won’t judge, because perhaps there is more going on than meets the eye.

To me, World Autism Day is a chance to celebrate the 1 in 88. For me, that means a personal celebration for Skye. She reminds me every time I see her how precious life is and I will forever be thankful for that. It is my duty to educate and involve my community so that they can understand Autism and help raise funding and awareness together for adults and children like Skye.

 

A few facts:

  1. Autism now affects 1 in 88 children and 1 in 54 boys.
  2. Autism receives less than 5% of the research funding of many less prevalent childhood diseases.
  3. Autism is the fastest-growing serious developmental disability in the U.S.

Let me leave you with this:

“Everyone is a genius. But if you judge a fish on its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing it is stupid”

-Einstein.

 

Leave a Reply

